Carrot and Roasted Garlic Hummus

P2261491

If you’ve been to a Northern Michigan Farmers Market lately, you’re likely to see fewer greens. There will be plenty of baked goods, jelly & jams, meats & cheeses, but greens are harder to come by in February. Even with advancements in farming infrastructure like hoophouses and greenhouses, the beautiful and at times frustrating reality about growing food from the earth is that mother nature makes the rules.

At the farmers market I attend every Saturday, the majority of fresh produce you’ll find this time of year is carrots. You’ll see me walking through the market selecting my goods from the stalls and chomping on these fresh, local deliciously sweet carrots. Other than the raw form, carrots can be made into incredible soups, heart-warming roasted side dishes and salads. Recently however, I was curious to find a recipe that used carrots in a way I’d never used them before. As soon as I saw the color of this rich & flavorful carrot hummus I knew I had to try it, so I brought it along with me to a friends house last night for dinner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let me just say,  I LOVE having friends that enjoy cooking and food as much as I do. Last night, was an incredible feast with three women I really enjoy spending time with. Our objective was simply to gather together around food and so we did, lots of food I might add. The carrot hummus turned out smashingly with cucumber slices and pita bread for dipping. My main dish on the other hand, a concoction of beet gnocchi with lemon pesto, while equally delicious was far less ‘picture perfect.’ It was my first time making both dishes and while putting them together I realized I had created a theme unknowingly of colorful and hearty root vegetables in an uncommon form.  Perhaps its because of this long cold winter,  stirring up a desire for change and the color that arrives with spring.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our collection of small plate dishes for the night included:

The ‘Life-Changing Loaf of Bread’  from Sarah B at My New Roots! (pictured above)

Beet Gnocchi with Lemon Pesto

Jeweled Rice Salad with Red Grapes, Scallions & Pecans

Guacamole with Sweet Potato Chips

Butternut Squash & Roasted Apple Quinoa

Homemade “Fig Newtons”

Carrot & Roasted Garlic Hummus with sliced cucumber and pita

Citrus Salad

Raw Cocoa Walnut Bars

P2261497

The dishes paired together incredibly and though I packed my plate full of the colorful food, there was nothing but a gleaming white plate left when I had finished.

P2261489

Carrot and Roasted Garlic Hummus

Makes 1 cup of hummus

Prep time: 25 minutes

Preheat: 400 degrees

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup roughly chopped carrots
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
  • 3/4 cup cooked garbanzo beans
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1 tbls lemon juice

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Directions:

Line baking sheet with foil or parchment, then place chopped carrots in a bowl and coat in 1 tbsp of olive oil. Spread them in one layer on the lined baking sheet and place in the oven.

Wrap the cloves of garlic in foil and place in the oven as well.

Roast for 20-25 minutes or until carrots are tender with a fork. Remove from the oven, unwrap garlic and let cool.

In your food processor combine all ingredients including extra salt or lemon juice to your taste.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dinner with family and friends or Potlucks of any kind are some of my favorite gatherings. I love having small ‘tastes’ of everything dish and I often find myself experimenting with recipes in these occasions, enjoying the immediate honest feedback from the people closest to me. The dishes I made last night really made me realize how much I’m looking forward to warmer weather and all that comes with spring. The change is in the air and March is just around the corner!

What are some of your favorite, colorful springtime dishes?

love,

tricia

23 thoughts on “Carrot and Roasted Garlic Hummus

  1. At first the credit will reduce that taxed owed, but if there is no tax
    then the money will be given to the taxpayer. Because those who follow through with the techniques
    being taught are certain to succeed, and offer like this is sure to sell out quickly.
    If you don’t have the funds, can you borrow from friends or relatives.

  2. With just few dollars, you can achieve a golden-bronze
    tan and also manage to look gorgeous and hot.
    The easier products to use are those that you rub into your skin. Back to your skin check,
    the first time you do the check be sure to take as many pictures as possible to show what your skin looks like.

  3. While being fashionable, several brides prefer a full skirt dress with a more exclusive style, and there are a
    lot of those you can purchase. The website offers a wide
    variety of hair clips, flowers, baby bows, headbands, french clips, and cheer bows for females
    of all ages–babies, toddlers, girls, teens, and women. • Do not touch your ears, not unless you are applying some antibacterial ointments
    or healing creams to the incision site.

  4. Pretty component of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to claim that I get actually enjoyed account your blog
    posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds
    and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  5. I was at first shocked and then giddy with excitement as I went
    and started catching hoppers. Always buy fresh, shelled cockles from
    a fish market. There are still unspoilt regions,
    but a lot of it is more like an open plan zoo that is not well maintained.

  6. Exquisite Midi dresses: – The newest thing will be
    the midi dress although it won’t benefit everyone,
    when you can get the shape that’s flattering to suit your needs; it’s rather a really different approach
    to be noticeable of from your crowd and instead gives off a tad bit more for the imagination compared to the faithful mini
    dress. You could match your wedding gown and aroma with a a lot of
    flattering minimize of purple colours dresses in your bridesmaids.

    Now, in reality, Jiang Hao has been arranged outside the site
    in their own good wind and rain do not care through the
    Alexander matrix, it can barely be regarded as a certain power of
    self-protection, but Jiang Hao was also not at all to relax this principle.

  7. Hey I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Digg
    for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up
    the awesome job.

  8. Example: [Pays 100 if the FTSE touches X between today and date T].
    That it is one and only one form of investing where one can start trading with a
    deposit instantly and that returns can start pouring in instantly
    which can also be withdrawn if so be the need.
    The calculator also gives tradersan option to check the data that involves different aspects
    of trading, so that they can closely relate to the type of
    binary trading they personally like to do.

  9. We’ll show how to accomplish this with just a few simple steps.
    Since 10% of California’s budget goes to pay
    for its prison system, the idea is that AB
    109 will free up billions in the state budget. Every bride wants
    to look their radiant best on their wedding day.

  10. Hi I am so grateful I found your blog, I really foound
    you by mistake, while I was researching on Diigg for something else,
    Regardless I am hsre now and would just like to saay ccheers for a remarkable
    post and a all round thrilling bog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    browse it all att the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I
    have tim I will be back tto read a lot more,Please do keep up the awesome
    jo.

  11. items in their own particular view are clearly the actual ones which they will.
    – Oxybenzone – carcinogen and contributor to vascular disease, may
    affect the brain and nervous system in animals.
    A tanning solution provides the right kind of solution which is always extremely
    helpful in showing the best kind of effect on your face.

  12. Self tanning products can be used at home, or one can take professional help by going to a salon. Third tip for removing self tanner is by
    using lemon juice mixed with kosher salt.
    Suede is less durable than other varieties of Buffalo Leather and is
    cheaper because many pieces of suede can be split from a single piece of the
    hide.

  13. Before committing to any organization, it’s best to ask
    in regards to the removing of collapsible demolition baggage acquired at massive home improvement
    stores as quite a few dumpster companies is not going to try this.
    These national brokers will not have their
    house workplaces within the native space although
    they may promote there.

Leave a Reply

